Volunteer of the Year

Summerset Retirement Villages

NZIB's Volunteer of the Year Award was introduced in 2012.  It is for any unpaid administrator who has done an outstanding job during the previous 12 months.

Nominations close 31 October each year with the recipient being announced at the AGM.


Download a Nomination Form (PDF version)

Download a Nomination Form (Word document)


Past Receipents

2012 Aad van Leeuwen, Central Otago and Linda Mills, North Harbour
2013 Jenny Chapman, Waikato
2014 David Bullock, Canterbury
2015 Marjorie Mackay, Manawatu
2016 David Ross, Southland
2017 Josephine Wells. Auckland
2018 Colleen Fenton, South Otago
2019 Michael Dowling, Southland
2020 Wayne Richards, Manawatu
2021 Delwyn Hughes, Bay of Plenty


Joint winners: Aad van Leeuwen from Central Otago and Linda Mills from North Harbour.  Aad has been involved with COIBA for over 10 years in a variety of positions.  He spends 100's of hours every year ensuring tournaments are run like clockwork and the results are processed and printed off within minutes of the last score card being handed in. Aad is always looking for innovations to make things easier and has given outstanding service to the game.

Former New Zealand representative Linda Mills has provided wonderful service to the North Harbour IBC over many years.  It was Linda's initiative to have a sub-committee formed to undertake a comprehensive review off all aspects of the Centre including where the sport was headed and she also currently acts as Raffle and Social Convenor for the Centre.


Jenny Chapman, for her work as Waikato's Sport Development Manager.  She coordinated a very successful introduction of indoor bowls to over 600 students in addition to her role as District Secretary.


David Bullock was the winner of this award.  David had shown great leadership as Canterbury's President over a very difficult 4 year period which had allowed their Association to continue to function in post-quake mode.  The fact that they were able to retain their membership numbers this year was extremely creditable.  The CIBA hall's major fire in September has meant even more work for David finding halls around the province and he has spent many hours with the necessary programming and controlling of events.


Marjorie McKay, Manawatu was the winner of this award that spoke of her impressive record both as a former NZ player and an administrator.  She was the District's Patron, a Life Member and after 20 years Marg was still a junior selector and held together the junior development in the district.


David Ross of Southland was the well-deserved winner of this award.  He had been the Financial Controller for Southland IBC since 1999 and also sole coach/organiser of Southlands Young Spirit Club which caters for under 20 year olds.  David's leadership skills and planning to detail are a major reason for the Centre to run so successfully.


Josephine Wells, Auckland was the winner of this award.  Known as Jo or Nana Jo to the younger members was 91 years of age.  She still did a considerable amount of work for Western IBA and Auckland IBC where she has been Patron and Life member for many years.  Even though she does not play the game any longer,  Jo still works tirelessly behind the scenes, and donates many raffle prizes.


Colleen Fenton, South Otago has always been actively involved both with playing at Island representative level as well as all levels of administration in South Otago.  She is very astute in accounting and management and been South Otago’s Treasurer for over 20 years.  With her great organisational skills she was always willing to volunteer for extra work as well as coaching new players and giving encouragement to all members. 

A special award for outstanding service to the game was awarded to Alistair Graham for his work in the Canterbury Association hall organising mats, bowls and scoreboards.


Michael Dowling was the winner of this awardwas accepted by Southland’s Chairman Suzanne Mackie.  Like many bowlers Michael was introduced to the sport at a young age and was a prominent representative bowler.  He is now focussing his energies as an administrator and giving back to the sport which he has reaped so much satisfaction.  The Southland Centre endorsed Michael’s nomination saying he is a great bowler, a particularly competent organiser and a true gentleman of the sport.

A special certificate was awarded to Murray Harris who was in charge of the mats and bowls at the Summerset National Championships held in Rotorua this year.  At 83 years of age he was always one of the first to arrive at the Events Centre each morning and one of the last to leave.

The other nominations were also of high quality and they all will be acknowledged with a certificate.


Wayne Richards has coordinated the Manawatu Centre programme for many years and has been instrumental in and assisted with holding of two Blind and two Deaf National tournaments.  He was Hall Controller for the North Island Championships in 2012.  As President he oversaw the amalgamation of Palmerston North, Feilding and Rangitikei Associations into the Manawatu Centre.  He has played representative bowls for Hawkes Bay, Wairarapa, Taranaki and West Coast and received a Gold Star in Manawatu in 2019.  He still organizes the running of club, centre and representative events.  Volunteers like Wayne are rare and priceless.


Delwyn has been involved in Indoor Bowls in Bay of Plenty and Rotorua for many years and has worked tirelessly in that time.  She has served as President, secretary and Treasurer of Bay of Plenty, and served as President and on the Executive of NZIB for many years. She managed the Bay of Plenty A representative team and has also been a selector for the North Island teams, New Zealand team and Bay of Plenty and Rotorua Rep teams. This year Delwyn organized the North Island Championships. She also has organized all grants for the Bay of Plenty and Rotorua Associations. Delwyn is fair, a team player but most of all she is driven by her passion for the sport.

Special Award was presented for Outstanding Services to the Sport of Indoor Bowls.

This award is awarded for consistent, continued and entirely voluntary efforts to promote our sport. Not only do they dedicate a lot of time to playing our sport at a high level but they also hold a number of offices between them at Club and Centre level. They have also embarked over the past few years in bringing our sport to the masses through visual media. Through their efforts they have presented out sport to literally thousands of people who would otherwise have no notion of our sport. All this is done in a quiet and humble manner.

Congratulations on the Outstanding Services to the Sport of Indoor Bowls for 2021 to Joy and David Archer.