North Island tour of the South

Summerset Retirement Villages
18 April 2019, 15:48

All the regional teams facing the North Island on their tour have been named. You can view the PDF here.

All the results for the week will be posted here, so you can see it all on one page.

You can also follow the results live, as posted in the Google Docs Spreadsheet. You can view that here.

Abridged Results:

Friday 5th August - North Island BEAT Central / South Otago 19 - 5
Saturday 6th August - North Island BEAT Southland 14 - 10
Sunday 7th August - North Island BEAT Otago 13.5 - 10.5
Sunday 7th August - North Island BEAT North Otago / South Canterbury Combined 18 - 6
Monday 8th August - North Island BEAT Ashburton 15 - 9
Tuesday 9th August - North Island BEAT West Coast 20 - 4
Wednesday 10th August - North Island BEAT Marlborough / Top of the South 14.5 - 9.5
Thursday 11th August - North Island BEAT Canterbury 18 - 6
Friday - Rest Day
Saturday 13th August - North Island BEAT South Island 15.5 - 8.5

The North Island indoor bowls team have retained the Kevin Eddy Memorial Trophy with a convincing 31 to 17 win over the South Island in Christchurch on Saturday.

The North have now held the trophy, the symbol of inter-Island supremacy for thirteen years in a row.
Throughout their tour of the South Island the North's singles players Denise Clarkson (Hutt Valley) and Avon Compton (North Wellington) have led the way. With three more wins today against Belinda Peard (Southland) Clarkson has finished with 22 wins and two draws from her 27 games.

Compton also won his three games against the South's James Sullivan (Canterbury) today.
The North Island women's triple of Lois Randall (Hutt Valley), Linda McCurdy (Waikato) and Lisa Gould (Upper Hutt Valley) also won their three games.

For the South Island the women's four of Suzanne Mackie (Southland), Marie-Therese Hooper (Canterbury), Deanne Osborne (Canterbury) and Alanna Preddy (South Otago), posted three wins as did the men's four of Simon Thomas (Ashburton), Michael Lawson (Ashburton), Daniel French (Otago) and Grant Wilson (Ashburton).