Paterson Trophy Zone Finals

Summerset Retirement Villages
19 July 2021, 22:47


Five of the six Paterson Trophy Indoor Bowls winners were found this weekend - Auckland, Waikato, North Taranaki, Hutt Valley and Southland will all be competing in the 69th Welch Trophy inter-district final to be played at the Waikato Centre Hall from Friday 3rd to Sunday 5th September.

Counties kept Auckland on their toes for a bulk of the weekend, but ultimately the team in blue pulled away for a victory.  As current Welch champions, they will be looking to defend the trophy.

Waikato and North Taranaki looked to give a strong performance from start to finish, having gained an early lead and never faultering.

The results in Zones four and six were two nail biters.  Hutt Valley winning by two points against Upper Hutt Valley 127.5 to 125.5 and Southland just edging out Otago also by two points 127-125.  What an exciting weekend for those teams.

It was an historic weekend with a Civil Defence Emergency called in Westport because of flooding that caused the postponement of Zone five for two weeks and now to be played at Nelson.

Special mention to the top scorers of each zone: Jakeb White, Joy Archer, Aidan Zittersteijn, Joseph Zino and Warwick Gray.

Congratulations to these great teams, and all the best to the Zone five districts who will now play their Paterson in Nelson in a couple of weeks time.

View the full results are available on our ‘Live Scoreboard’ page.