Masters Fours to Tauranga

Summerset Retirement Villages
Masters Fours to Tauranga
18 June 2022, 18:48


Congratulations to Tauranga's Barry Clement, Roger Bartosh, Sharon Hook and Maureen Bartosh on their decisive victory in the National Masters Fours.

Along the way they narrowly defeated last year's winning fours skip, Bernard Bennett, in the quarterfinals.  Another close game followed against Manawatu's Greg Veale, Wayne Richards, Margaret Fisk and Jennie Veale in the semi final.  It went to an extra end which made for great viewing on the TV mat.

Hawkes Bay's Bruce Dalton reached his third semi final of the week, and looked to be on track for a second final with a 7-1 lead.  Warren Gibb's team from Poverty Bay stepped it up a notch though and pulled ahead to win 10-9.

When the scores were locked at 4-4 in the final, the national title could have gone either way.  But the Tauranga team found a second gear to be a comfortable 6 up last end.

The win gives Sharon her first national title, and Barry and the Bartosh's their second.