2020 North Island Fours

Summerset Retirement Villages
2020 North Island Fours
25 October 2020, 10:09

EXHILARATING FINAL GOES TO THE WIRE: Upper Hutt’s Island Championships continues to impress

Shaun Blackbourn, David Archer, James Sullivan and Joy Archer have been regular attendees at the annual Island Championships, and it is no wonder when you look at the success they have shared as a group.  Just last year they picked up the pairs and triples titles, and today the fours was added to the collection.

Losing their first game of the day to Frank McKenna put immediate pressure on Shaun and his team, and a tight fourth game almost saw them heading to the races.  Nevertheless, they found themselves in post section, comfortably beating Marcus Trlin, Kim Laird and Alex Reed on their road to the final.

Up against the 2018 National Fours Champions, Grant L’Ami, Paul Smith, Mike Phipps and Lorraine Phipps, it was always destined to be a riveting final.

No one could have predicted a maximum score of eight on the first end, but the fight back shown from L’Ami’s team was no surprise.  They strung together multiple good heads and clawed their way back into the game, eventually hitting the lead 10-9 after seven ends.  Shaun played a perfect split-and-follow-through shot on the eighth which locked the scores at 10 all going into the final end.

Joy and James gave their team a good start but Dave’s backhand and forehand touchers were match winning shots.  With the head unchanged for the remainder of the end, they were crowned the 2020 North Island Fours Champions, which also doubles as the Upper Hutt Open Fours.  For Shaun and Joy it is their fourth island title, James’ third and Dave’s second.

Congratulations on the win, and thank you to all finalists who produced a magnificent game for the spectators.

Final results:

1st - Shaun Blackbourn, David Archer, James Sullivan, Joy Archer

2nd - Grant L’Ami, Paul Smith, Mike Phipps, Lorraine Phipps

3rd equal - Alex Reed, Keith Setter, Don Harris, Debbie Reed

3rd equal - Tim Veale, Phil Clinch, Bradyn Popow, Jennie Veale