2020 NZ 1-5 Year Pairs Preview

Summerset Retirement Villages
4 September 2020, 11:51

National 1-5 Year Pairs title up for grabs!

The National events are flowing thick and fast now. This Saturday, 5th September, Upper Hutt will be hosting the 1-5 Year Pairs at the Onepoto Hall.  While this competition is only in its second year, and the finalists have been playing the game for under five years, their names are already becoming familiar.

The recent New Zealand Junior Singles Champion, Matthew Foster, also holds the 1-5 Year Pairs title from 2019 when he lead for his cousin Nathan Trowell.  This time he is stepping into the skip role with younger brother Dylan coming in at lead. Just last weekend the young Poverty Bay Paterson reps picked up a bronze medal in the Secondary School Pairs, but I am sure they will be determined to win gold this time around.

Southland’s combination of Alan Berrigan and Ewan Tosh could surprise.  Alan is a very keen bowler who improved rapidly since he first started.  Described as having incredible potential, Alan was recently selected as a Southland representative - but COVID-19 struck and the match was abandoned.  Off the front is Ewan Tosh; he was reintroduced to the sport after a brief social stint many years ago and will make a handy lead.

There are a number of juniors scattered throughout the field, but it was particularly nice to see Jordan Newton’s name in the mix.  Jordan was one of the two boys unable to attend the New Zealand Junior Singles due to Level 3 restrictions in Auckland, but what an opportunity he has here alongside fellow Counties junior Brayden Riggs.

All the best to the eight teams representing their zones!

Scores will be updated regularly here

Zone 1 – Counties - Jordan Newton and Brayden Riggs

Zone 2 – Poverty Bay - Matthew and Dylan Foster

Zone 3 – North Taranaki - Hayley Ward and Flynn Watson

Zone 4 – Manawatu - AJ Bond and Ray Bailey

Zone 5 – Hutt Valley - Blair Gowan and Logan Heppell

Zone 6 – Nelson - Marie Granger and Graham Davey

Zone 7 – Ashburton/Canterbury - Alex McLeod and Keith Hawkins

Zone 8 – Southland - Alan Berrigan and Ewan Tosh