Indoor Bowls - a game for all

Special Discounts for bowlers. Click an icon below for details.

NZ Indoor Bowls

Latest news

WEBMASTER. After 12 years as NZIB Webmaster, Jock Jamieson has decided to step down from this very important position at the end of 2014. The website along with Facebook have been virtually the only means of getting information and results out there, something that newspapers used to do. If you think being webmaster is a role for you and you want more details please feel free to contact Jock. Email Jock.
Applications should be sent to:
Ngaire Drake
NZIB Executive Officer
Box 11-221 Wellington

NZ Secondary Schools Singles Champion found.
Fourteen-year-old Jakeb White of Rosehill College in the Counties district is the 2014 New Zealand Secondary Schools Indoor Bowls Singles champion.
In a tight final at Titahi Bay in Wellington on Sunday he beat Aidan Zittersteijn from Spotswood College 10-9 in  the final.
The result was some sort of revenge for Jakeb White after he lost the final of the New Zealand Junior Singles to 15-year-old Jonty Horwell of Logan Park High School in Otago on Saturday.
Horwell was beaten by Zittersteijn in the quarter finals of the secondary school singles on Sunday.
A former singles champion, Shaquaid Hihi of Gisborne Boys High finished third and Nash Smith of Tauranga was fourth.
In the plate final Vinnie Rayner of Menzies College beat Ethan Batt of James Hargest High 9-4.
Secondary Schools results. Go there.

NZ Secondary Schools Pairs Champions found.
Georgia Watt and Joshua Fox from Hawera High School are the 2014 New Zealand Secondary Schools Indoor Bowls Pairs champions.
At Titahi Bay on Monday afternoon they beat Bronwyn and Amber McNally from Hillcrest High School 15-5 in the final.
In third place were Matthew Heads and Ethan Batt from James Hargest High, after beating Aidan Zittersteijn and Jason Hook from Spotswood College 9-7 in the play-off for third and fourth.
The plate final saw Trevor Burgess and Jason Gray from Southland Boys High beat Bryn Hastie and Alex Middleton from Hamilton Boys High 12-5.
Aidan Zittersteijn was named player of the tournament. He was runner-up in the singles on Sunday and with his partner Jason Hook finished fourth in the pairs.
Secondary Schools results. Go there.

National Junior Singles.
Fifteen-year-old Jonty Horwell is the New Zealand  Junior Singles champion for 2014. He beat 14-year-old Jakeb White of Counties  8-7 in a tight, tense final. After six ends Horwell led 4-3 but a three on the next end gave the lead to White. However  Horwell fought back, and the scores were level starting the final end. Horwell  drew the shot  with his final bowl to secure the win.
The plate final was one-sided with Nash Smith of Tauranga beating Matthew Blissett of South Canterbury 17-5. Nash Smith’s hopes of qualifying for the main event were dashed when he lost his first two games.
Full results. Go there.

Junior Inter-Zone Champs.
The Northern Zone has won the HGC McLaughlin Trophy at Titahi Bay in Wellington after beating the Southern Zone 10-2 tonight.
The North won all their games in the first round, to lead 6-0.
In the second round the Southern Zone won the pairs, but that was their only success.
The Northern Zone triples and fours won both their matches.
The two teams were named after the conclusion of the New Zealand Junior Singles, which was won by Jonty Horwell of Otago.
Full results.
Go there.

NZIB Newsletter for July. Go there.

Inter-Island Tour - Final results.
The North Island indoor bowls team has retained the Kevin Eddy Memorial Trophy.
In Timaru on Saturday night the North beat the South Island by 29 points to 19 in their annual clash.
The North’s women’s singles, pairs, triples and fours  all won their games, and received winner’s medals along with the men’s singles player.
The South Island won medals for taking out the men’s pairs, triples and fours.
The closest game of the night was the men’s triples where the two teams each finished with one and a half wins and the match went to the South 33-30 on a countback of ends won.
A feature of the fixture was a number of close, high-scoring games.
Results and pictures. Go there.
District team lists and schedule of games. Get it.

2014 Nationals coverage. Watch this and lots more, supplied for you by Alex Reed, Press Reporter, Tauranga Indoor Bowls Association. Go there.

2014 Mixed Fours.
Tauranga are the 50th anniversary winners of the National Mixed Fours for 2014.
Their team of Paul Smith (skip), Mike Phipps (3), Fiona Wilson (2) and Lorraine Phipps (lead), won five of their seven matches for 10 game points.
Canterbury were second with nine and Bush-Ruahine third with eight.
Last year's winning team from North Taranaki, skipped by John Zittersteijn, failed to qualify this year.
The eight zone winners who played off in Upper Hutt on Saturday were, in the North Island: Northern - Roskills & Districts; Eastern - Tauranga; Western - North Taranaki ; South Eastern - Bush-Ruahine; Southern- Upper Hutt Valley.
In the South Island: North Western - Golden Bay-Motueka; Eastern - Canterbury; Southern - Southland .
Results and pictures. Go there.

2014 Paterson Trophy Zone Finals Decided.
There will be a new holder of the Welch Trophy, the symbol of indoor bowls supremacy at district level, this year. Last year’s winners, North Taranaki, failed to qualify in Paterson Trophy zone play in this year’s tournament.
North Taranaki’s two teams, skipped by multiple national champions Grant l’Ami and John Zittersteijn, finished second to Manawatu at Otorohanga at the weekend.
Manawatu now hold the Paterson Trophy for that zone.
Results and full Wrap/Summary. Go there.

2014 North Island Secondary Schools Championships PAIRS
Fourteen teams contested this year’s Pairs title, from Whanganui, Hamilton, Hawera, Matamata, Te Puke, Gisborne and Tauranga. Last year’s pairs winners Bronwyn & Amber McNally from Hillcrest High School were among the contenders and qualified by winning their first three games.
Competing players and their schools. Get it.
Results from the Pairs. Get it.

2014 North Island Secondary Schools Championships SINGLES
Thirty five secondary school students contested for this years singles title with players from Auckland, Hamilton, Hawera, Whanganui, Matamata, Te Puke, Gisborne and Tauranga.
Last year’s winner Shaquaid Hihi from Gisborne Boys High School was back to defend his title along with placegetters Georgia Watt (Hawera High School), Nash Smith (Tauranga Boys College) and Amber McNally (Hillcrest High School).
Results from the Singles. Get it.

Like the new colours?
New mats are also available.

Order them here.


NEW 5'5 Quiz #10. Test your knowledge ->Find it on the sidebar ->